menuMENU    UK Free TV logo Archive (2002-)



Click to see updates

Switchover notes - multiplex names

Just to make things complicated, each multiplex now has three names

Just to make things complicated, each multiplex now has three n
published on UK Free TV

The Broadcasting Act 1996 (c. 55) originally set up the law that allows digital television to be broadcast.

The regulator was the ITC (Independent Television Commission) allocated six multiplexes, as provided by the Act.

Original allocations

Multiplex 1

Multiplex 1 was allocated to the BBC. The BBC can provide whatever services on it that it deems necessary. The multiplex originally ran in 64QAM mode, delivering 24Mbps.

Multiplex 2

Multiplex 2 was allocated as follows:

Multiplex A

Multiplex A was allocated to S4C, the Welsh language broadcaster.

Multiplex B, C and D

These were allocated to British Digital Broadcasting, later known as ONdigital and ITV Digital. These were to be used for "pay TV" services. These multiplex originally ran in 64QAM mode, delivering 24Mbps.

Freeview allocations

After the failure on ITV Digital, their multiplexes were put up for auction.

Multiplexes 1 and B

Multiplex B was then allocated to BBC Free To View Ltd (BBC FTV). The BBC switched multiplexes 1 and B to 16QAM mode, delivering 18Mbps each to provide more reliable coverage but with an extra 12Mbps.

Multiplexes C and D

These were awarded to Crown Castle International (CCI), which was originally part of BBC Engineering that was "liberated" from the BBC by the 1996 Act. These multiplexes were also switched to 16QAM mode, with 18Mbps each.

Ofcom frequency negotiations

New names

The Ofcom international frequency negotiations for the digital-only terrestrial television used new designations for the multiplexes. These were:
  • Multiplex 1 - PSB1 ("Public Service Broadcasting")
  • Multiplex 2 - PSB2
  • Multiplex A - COM4 ("Commercial")
  • Multiplex B - PSB3
  • Multiplex C - COM5
  • Multiplex D - COM6

Post-switchover names

To distinguish the multiplexes in the switched-over regions from the original ones, Ofcom now uses these names:
  • Multiplex 1 - BBCA ("BBC A") - back in 64QAM
  • Multiplex 2 - D3+4 ("Digital 3 and 4 Ltd")
  • Multiplex A - SDN ("S4C Digital Networks")
  • Multiplex B - BBCB ("BBC B") - - back in 64QAM
  • Multiplex C - ARQA ("Arqiva A") - back in 64QAM
  • Multiplex D - ARQB ("Arqiva B") - back in 64QAM

Arqiva bought Crown Castle International.

Freeview HD

Freeview HD will provide, from 2 December 2009, a new service on Multiplex BBCB. This will be in 256QAM mode.

Help with Freeview, aerials?
How do I get a test card with Freeview1
I would like to know if it is possible to receive UK terrestrial Freeview servic2
I have been told I would receive too much singal from my Freeview tansmitter as 3
Can my Freeview box receive more than one BBC and ITV region?4
Is it true that my 87 year old mother is entitled to a FREE upgrade when the ana5
In this section
Should the UK close down the TV networks to allow for more mobile broadband? 1
UK Digital switchover ends - Northern Ireland completes on 24th October 20122
The last day of analogue television in the UK - goodbye PAL3
2 days left of analogue television - goodbye teletext4
3 days of analogue to go - goodbye to NICAM 7285
Changes to Saorview frequencies and power levels, 24th October 20126


Your comment please
Please post a question, answer or commentUK Free TV is here to help people. If you are rude or disrespectful all of your posts will be deleted and you will be banned.

Privacy policy: UK Free Privacy policy.