menuMENU    UK Free TV logo Maps



Click to see updates

Black and white days, VHF bands I and III television

The map below shows the location of the transmitters that were used, from 2nd November 1936 for the BBC television service; and from 22nd September 1955 for the Independent Broadcasting Authority. The 405-line monochrome service was phased out by January 1985. The network of channels was broadcast on VHF frequencies in two bands.

map is loading, please wait...

What do the map symbols mean?

 BBC VHF TV site,  Joint BBC/IBA site,  IBA VHF TV site.

This map is based on this 1982 document, which has been archived by The UK 405-Line Television Network

Details of transmitters shown on the above map

AAbergavenny BBC1 Wales: C3 at 0.03kW H, HTV: C11 at 0.1kW H  Aldeburgh BBC1 East: C5 at 0.025kW V  Ammanford BBC1 Wales: C12 at 0.02kW H  Angus Grampian Television: C11 at 50kW V  Arfon HTV: C10 at 10kW H  Ashkirk BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 18kW V  Aviemore Grampian Television: C3 at 1kW H  Ayr BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 0.05kW H 
BBala HTV: C7 at 0.1kW V  Ballachulish BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 0.1kW V  Ballater BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.01kW V  Ballycastle BBC1 Northern Ireland: C4 at 0.05kW H, Ulster Television: C13 at 0.1kW H  Barnstaple BBC1 West: C3 at 0.2kW H  Bath BBC1 West: C6 at 0.25kW H, HTV: C8 at 0.5kW H  Bedford BBC1 East: C10 at 3kW H  Belmont BBC1 North: C13 at 20kW V, Yorkshire Television: C7 at 20kW V  Betws-y-Coed BBC1 Wales: C4 at 0.035kW H  Bexhill BBC1 London & SE: C3 at 0.15kW H  Black Hill Scottish Television: C10 at 300kW V  Black Mountain Ulster Television: C9 at 100kW H  Blaen Plwyf BBC1 Wales: C3 at 3kW H  Bodmin BBC1 South West: C5 at 0.01kW H  Brecon HTV: C8 at 0.1kW H  Bressay BBC1 Scotland: C3 at 6kW V  Brougher Mountain BBC1 Northern Ireland: C5 at 7kW V  Bude BBC1 South West: C4 at 0.1kW V  Burnhope Tyne Tees Television: C8 at 100kW H 
CCaldbeck Border Television: C11 at 100kW H  Cambridge BBC1 East: C2 at 0.1kW H  Campbeltown BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 0.25kW V  Canterbury BBC1 London & SE: C5 at 0.03kW V  Caradon Hill Westward Television: C12 at 200kW V  Cardigan BBC1 Wales: C2 at 0.45kW H  Carmarthen BBC1 Wales: C1 at 0.02kW V  Chillerton Down Southern Television: C11 at 100kW V  Churchdown Hill BBC1 Midlands: C1 at 0.25kW H  Croydon Thames/LWT Television: C9 at 350kW V  Crystal Palace BBC1 London & SE: C1 at 100kW V 
DDivis BBC1 Northern Ireland: C1 at 35kW H  Dolgellau BBC1 Wales: C3 at 0.025kW V  Douglas (IOM) BBC1 North West: C5 at 3kW V  Dover Southern Television: C10 at 100kW V  Dundee Law BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 0.01kW V  Durris Grampian Television: C9 at 400kW H 
EEastbourne BBC1 London & SE: C5 at 0.05kW V  Emley Moor Yorkshire Television: C10 at 100kW V 
FFfestiniog BBC1 Wales: C5 at 0.05kW H  Folkestone BBC1 London & SE: C4 at 0.04kW H  Forfar BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 5kW V  Fort William BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 1.5kW H  Fremont Point Channel Television: C9 at 10kW H 
GGirvan BBC1 Scotland: C4 at 0.02kW V  Grantown BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.4kW H 
HHastings BBC1 London & SE: C4 at 0.015kW H  Haverfordwest BBC1 Wales: C4 at 10kW H  Hereford BBC1 Midlands: C2 at 0.05kW H  Holme Moss BBC1 North: C2 at 100kW V  Holyhead BBC1 Wales: C4 at 0.01kW H  Hungerford BBC1 London & SE: C4 at 0.025kW H  Huntshaw Cross Westward Television: C11 at 0.5kW H 
IIsles of Scilly BBC1 South West: C3 at 0.02kW H 
KKendal BBC1 North West: C1 at 0.025kW H  Kilkeel BBC1 Northern Ireland: C3 at 0.025kW H  Kilvey Hill BBC1 Wales: C8 at 0.5kW H  Kingussie BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 0.035kW H  Kinlochleven BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.005kW V  Kirk O Shotts BBC1 Scotland: C3 at 100kW V 
LLarne BBC1 Northern Ireland: C3 at 0.05kW H  Les Platons BBC1 South West: C4 at 1kW H  Lethanhill Scottish Television: C12 at 3kW V  Lichfield ATV: C8 at 100kW V  Llandona BBC1 Wales: C1 at 6kW V  Llandovery HTV: C11 at 0.1kW H  Llandrindod Wells BBC1 Wales: C1 at 1.5kW H  Llanelli BBC1 Wales: C3 at 0.015kW V  Llangollen BBC1 Wales: C1 at 0.035kW H  Llanidloes BBC1 Wales: C13 at 0.02kW H  Lochgilphead BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.02kW V  Londonderry BBC1 Northern Ireland: C2 at 1.5kW H 
MMachynlleth BBC1 Wales: C5 at 0.05kW H  Maddybenny More BBC1 Northern Ireland: C5 at 0.02kW H  Manningtree BBC1 East: C4 at 5kW H  Marlborough BBC1 West: C7 at 0.025kW H  Meldrum BBC1 Scotland: C4 at 17kW H  Melvaig BBC1 Scotland: C4 at 25kW V  Membury ATV: C12 at 30kW H  Mendlesham Anglia Television: C11 at 200kW H  Millburn Muir BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.01kW V  Moel-y-Parc BBC1 Wales: C6 at 20kW V, HTV: C11 at 25kW V  Morecambe Bay BBC1 North West: C3 at 5kW H  Mounteagle Grampian Television: C12 at 50kW H 
NNewhaven BBC1 London & SE: C8 at 0.05kW V, Southern Television: C2 at 1kW V  Newry BBC1 Northern Ireland: C4 at 0.03kW V  North Hessary Tor BBC1 South West: C2 at 15kW V  Northampton BBC1 Midlands: C3 at 0.1kW V 
OOban BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 3kW V  Okehampton BBC1 South West: C4 at 0.04kW V  Orkney BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 15kW V  Oxford BBC1 London & SE: C2 at 0.65kW H 
PPenifiler BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.025kW H  Perth BBC1 Scotland: C4 at 0.025kW V  Peterborough BBC1 East: C5 at 1kW H  Pitlochry BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 0.2kW H  Pontop Pike BBC1 North East: C5 at 17kW H  Port Ellen BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 0.05kW V  Presely HTV: C8 at 100kW H 
RRedruth BBC1 South West: C1 at 10kW H  Richmond BBC1 North East: C3 at 0.045kW V  Richmond Hill Border Television: C8 at 10kW H  Ridge Hill ATV: C6 at 10kW V  Rosemarkie BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 20kW H  Rosneath BBC1 Scotland: C2 at 0.02kW V, Scottish Television: C13 at 0.1kW V  Rothesay Scottish Television: C8 at 1kW V  Rowridge BBC1 South: C3 at 100kW V  Rumster Forest Grampian Television: C8 at 30kW V  Rye BBC1 London & SE: C3 at 0.05kW H 
SSandale BBC1 North East: C4 at 30kW H, BBC1 Scotland: C6 at 70kW H  Sandy Heath Anglia Television: C6 at 30kW H  Scarborough BBC1 North: C1 at 0.5kW H, Yorkshire Television: C6 at 1kW H  Selkirk Border Television: C2 at 25kW V  Sheffield BBC1 North: C1 at 0.05kW H, Yorkshire Television: C6 at 0.1kW H  Sidmouth BBC1: C4 at 0.03kW H  Skriaig BBC1 Scotland: C3 at 12kW H  St Hilary HTV: C1 at 100kW V, HTV: C10 at 55kW V  Stockland Hill Westward Television: C9 at 100kW V  Strabane Ulster Television: C8 at 100kW V  Sutton Coldfield BBC1 Midlands: C4 at 100kW V  Swindon BBC1 West: C3 at 0.2kW H  Swingate (Dover) BBC1 London & SE: C2 at 1.5kW V 
TTacolneston BBC1 East: C3 at 45kW H  Thrumster BBC1 Scotland: C1 at 7kW V  Toward BBC1 Scotland: C5 at 0.25kW V 
VVentnor BBC1 South: C5 at 0.01kW H 
WWeardale BBC1 North East: C5 at 0.15kW H  Wensleydale BBC1 North: C1 at 0.02kW V  Wenvoe BBC1 Wales: C13 at 200kW V, BBC1 West: C5 at 100kW V  Weymouth BBC1 South: C1 at 0.05kW H  Whitby BBC1 North East: C4 at 0.04kW V  Whitehaven Border Television: C7 at 0.1kW V  Whitehawk Hill (Brighton) BBC1 South: C2 at 0.4kW V  Winter Hill BBC1 North West: C12 at 125kW V, Granada Television: C9 at 100kW V